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State Fuel Tax Remittance Form for Alternative Special Fuels 
 

Example: Used Fryer Oil              Biodiesel               Motor Oil              Syntoleum              Vegetable Oil 
 

 

SECTION I 
Name: (print Last, First, Middle) 
 

Quarter Ending:  

Address  
 

Phone Number: 

City 
 

State Zip Code 

See reverse side for instructions and information 
SECTION II 

 
DATE OF PRODUCTION 

 

 
TYPE OF FUEL PRODUCED AND/OR USED 

 
GROSS GALLONS 

 

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

   

 TOTAL GALLONS  

  X    $.2850 
 

STATE TAX DUE - Multiply total gallons by $.2850 ($.2775 tax + $.0075 cleanup fee)  

 

Sign below and remit to:  Montana Department of Transportation 
              Fiscal Operations Bureau 

Collection Section 
                                        PO Box 5895 

                        Helena, MT  59604-5895 
 
I declare, under penalties of perjury, that this remittance form has been examined by me and to 
the best of my knowledge and belief is true, correct and complete.   
 
 

_____________________________________                                          _____________________________     

Signature                              Date 
    

 

Montana Department of Transportation 
Motor Fuels Section 

2701 Prospect Ave 
PO Box 201001 

Helena, MT  59620-1001 
Phone: (406) 444-7276 FAX: (406) 444-5411 TTY: (406) 444-7696 

www.mdt.mt.gov 

By cooperative agreement, the Montana Department of Transportation exchanges fuel tax information with other collecting agencies.  

 Alternative accessible formats of this document will be provided on request. 

 

http://www.mdt.mt.gov/


Instructions 
 
Section I 
Complete your name, address, phone number and quarter for which you are reporting. 
 
 Quarter 1 – January – March  
 Quarter 2 – April – June 
 Quarter 3 – July – September 
 Quarter 4 – October – December 
 
This form is due on or before the last day of the next calendar month following the period to which it 
relates.  For example – Quarter 1 is due on or before April 30.  If April 30 falls on a weekend or holiday, the 
due date becomes the first business day following April 30. 
 
Section II 
Enter each batch of alternative special fuel used.  Total all gross gallons on the Total Gallons line.  
Compute amount due by multiplying total gallons by the rate of $.2850.  (State tax of $.2775 + Petroleum 
Storage Cleanup Fee of $.0075). 
 
Submit signed form and amount due to MDT.    
   
NOTE:   If you sell your product to another person or business you will need to become licensed as a 
Special Fuel Distributor. 
 

Information  
 
MCA 15-70-123 Report by unlicensed dealer -- definition -- penalty. (1) The department of 
transportation may require a dealer who is not licensed by the department under Title 15, chapter 70, to 
file, within 30 days of the end of a quarter, on a form prescribed by the department a report of the amount 
of fuel received and sold during the quarter. The report must also contain other information as required by 
the department. 
 (2)  As used in this section, "dealer" means a dealer who: 
 (b)  offers or advertises to sell, refine, manufacture, or store gasoline, aviation gasoline, special 
fuel, liquefied petroleum gas (LPG), or compressed natural gas (CNG) in this state. 
 (3)  A dealer who fails to file the report required by subsection (1) shall be fined $50 for the first 
offense, $75 for the second offense, and $100 for the third and each subsequent offense.  
 History: En. Sec. 1, Ch. 34, L. 1993; amd. Sec. 1, Ch. 340, L. 1999. 
 
MCA 15-70-301 Definitions. As used in this part, the following definitions apply: 
(18)  "Special fuel" means those combustible gases and liquids commonly referred to as diesel fuel or 
any other volatile liquid of less than 46 degrees A.P.I. (American petroleum institute) gravity test, 
except liquid petroleum gas, when actually sold for use in motor vehicles operating upon the public 
roads and highways within the state of Montana. The term special fuel includes biodiesel, and 
additives of all types when the additive is mixed or blended into special fuel, regardless of the 
additive's classifications or uses. 
 
MCA 15-70-321 (1) The department shall, under the provisions of rules issued by it, collect or cause 
to be collected from the owners or operators of motor vehicles a tax, as provided in subsection (2):  

(2) The tax imposed in subsection (1) is 27 3/4 cents per gallon. 
 
MCA 75-11-314.  Petroleum storage tank cleanup fee -- collection -- penalties -- warrant for distraint -- 
statute of limitations. (1) Except as provided in subsection (4), each distributor shall pay to the department 
of transportation a petroleum storage tank cleanup fee for each gallon of gasoline, aviation gasoline, 
special fuel, or heating oil distributed by the distributor within the state and upon which the fee has not 
been paid by any other distributor. The fee must equal: 
 (d)  $.0075 cent for each gallon of special fuel.  
 


