# MONTANA AERONAUTICS BOARD TELECONFERENCE MEETING 2630 Airport Road, Helena, MT June 6, 2017

#### **Aeronautics Board**

Tricia McKenna, Board Chairman Robert Buckles Chris Edwards Dan Hargrove Bill Hunt, Jr Fred Lark Roger Lincoln Walt McNutt Jeff Wadekamper

### **Department of Transportation**

Debbie Alke, MDT Aeronautics Effie Benoit, MDT Aeronautics Wade Cebulski, MDT Aeronautics Tim Conway, MDT Aeronautics Carol Grell-Morris, MDT Legal

#### **Guests:**

Webb Brown

## Call to Order

Chairman McKenna called meeting to order at: 8:04 a.m.

Chairman McKenna introduced new board member, Jeff Wadekamper.

Bill Hunt made a motion to approve the January and February minutes as presented. Fred Lark seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

#### **Public Comment**

Chairman McKenna asked for public comment, which there was none.

#### FY17 Grant/Loan Extensions

- Deer Lodge requested an extension for the \$41,193 loan.
- Stevensville requested an extension for a \$26,680 grant and a \$71,000 loan.

Chris Edwards made a motion to approve both grant and loan extension requests. Bill Hunt seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

#### Audit Update - Tim Conway, Airports & Airways Bureau Chief

The Aeronautics Division underwent an internal audit on the administration of the grant and loan program. The audit committee found that the Division is in compliance with all applicable federal and state regulations and MDT policies and procedures. However, the audit committee made seven recommendations pertaining to documentation of the loan and grant process to ensure compliance and consistency.

The Fort Benton Airport underwent an audit to ensure the airport used their FY16 loan and grant monies as intended. There were no findings.

# Airway Beacon Update - Debbie Alke, Aeronautics Division Administrator

The amendment to HB 2 requiring that Aeronautics use a public process to develop a plan for maintaining the airway beacons was stricken in the Senate by Senator Mike Lang, Malta. However, the Governor's office has requested that MDT Director Tooley create a working group to further discuss the beacons and provide the Director with a recommendation after MDT conducts informational meetings around the state. The Director will then make a decision regarding the future of the airway beacons.

The working group members are Tricia McKenna, Brian Dunlop, Roger Meggers, Ted Mathis, Jeanne MacPherson, and Representative Curdy. The first meeting is scheduled for June 20, 2017 in Helena.

#### **Board Discussion**

Fred Lark inquired if airports that have public transportation are eligible for courtesy car grants. Tim Conway and Waded Cebulski explained that airports qualify for a courtesy car grant if 24 hour, 7 days a week public transportation is unavailable. MDT Aeronautics researches the availability of public transportation before a courtesy car grant is awarded. Courtesy car grants are funded through Aeronautics' operating fund; therefore applications are approved by Aeronautics.

Fred Lark inquired if the proposed five percent budget reduction was passed through legislation. Debbie Alke confirmed that the five percent budget reduction did pass legislation and effects the FY18 and FY19 grant, loan, and pavement preservation budgets.

#### **Next Meeting**

The next meeting is scheduled for January 17-18, 2018 in Helena.

Being no other business, Roger Lincoln made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 9:01 a.m. Fred Lark seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Tricia McKenna, Chairman
Roger Lincoln, Secretary