

<u>2025</u>

<u>CERTIFICATION</u> Course April 9-12, 2025 Billings, MT Koren Bloom (406) 259-9601 safekidsyellowstoneco@gmail.com

<u>CERTIFICATION</u> Course *Closed Course for Native American Programs and Partners

April 29-May 1, 2025 Havre, MT Jennifer Booge (218) 252-4634

jennifer.booge@nsc.org

<u>CERTIFICATION</u> Course

*Closed Course for Bozeman Fire April 29-May 2, 2025

Bozeman, MT Scott Mueller (406) 582-2350 smueller@bozeman.net

If additional courses are scheduled, the flyer will be updated.

Questions?

Tracie Kiesel - MT CPS Program Training Coordinator and Contact tkiesel@helenaschools.org 406-439-0085

To register

- Go to <u>http://cert.safekids.org</u>
- Click on "Become a Tech", set up an online profile and follow the instructions
- The \$95 registration fee includes your first two years of certification

To Sign up for e-mail alerts when new
Courses are added

 Go to <u>New Course Notification</u> <u>SKCMS (cyzap.net)</u>



2025 National Child Passenger Safety Technician Certification Training Dates and Locations

Provided through a partnership with the Montana Department of Transportation

Classroom Information

- Hands-on activities to become familiar with all types of car seats and seat belt systems
- Learn which car seat systems are appropriate for different age, weight, & height of children and how to correctly install them
- Optimal instructor-participant ratio for maximum learning

Course Highlights

- Technician course guide to take home
- 32-36 hour course with 3 written quizzes, 4 skills evaluations
- Hands-on experience installing car seats
- Participate in a real community car seat checkup event!
- Controlled Courses are set for Identified Agencies or are Regulated by Lead Instructor

Become a Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician.

Use your new skills to teach parents and caregivers about proper car seat safety use for their children.

Make a Difference...

Help ensure Montana's little ones are safer while traveling.





Who should attend?

- Parents & Caregivers
- Car Dealerships/Businesses
- Teachers
- Childcare Providers
- Firefighters
- Head Start Personnel
- Law Enforcement
- Health Care & Medical Personnel
- Home Visiting Nurses & Staff
- Insurance Providers
- Registered Nurses
- Emergency Medical Technicians
- Injury Prevention Staff

A **\$240 stipend** may be available from MDT for those traveling more than 50 miles each way to attend the 3-4 day training!

- * Law Enforcement: 24-28 POST Credits may be available
- * Teachers: may qualify for 28 Teacher Renewal Units
- * EMT's and Paramedics can earn 24 Continuing Education Hours
- MT Nurses: approved for 25.5
 Contact Hours by Montana Nurses
 Association
- * Approved for Early Childhood Project Professional Development There is no conflict of interest for any planner, provider, or instructor of this training.

<u>Criteria for successful completion:</u> Participant must attend the ENTIRE course, pass 3 written quizzes with at least 42 out of 50 correct, pass 4 hands-on skills assessments, and participate in the public car seat checkup event.

BUCKLE <mark>UP</mark> **M**ontana



Montana Department of Transportation attempts to provide accommodations for any known disability that may interfere with a person participating in any service, program or activity of the Department. Alternative accessible formats of this information will be provided upon request. For further information: (406) 444-0809; TTY (800) 335-7592; Montana Relay at 7ll; or fax (406) 444-9409.